Rocky Hill


Authorizing the Mayor and Clerk to Sign a Contract with the Franklin Township Police Department for Additional Traffic Enforcement




  1. Printout


WHEREAS, the Borough of Rocky Hill desires to enter into a contract for traffic enforcement in addition to what the State Police provide; and


WHEREAS, Franklin Township Police have been working with the Borough Safety committee to work out a contract that is beneficial to both towns.


NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, by the Mayor and Council of the Borough of Rocky Hill,  County of Somerset, State of New Jersey that the Mayor and Clerk are authorized to sign the contract between the Township of Franklin and the Borough of Rocky Hill for additional police services.



Meeting History

Sep 5, 2017 7:30 PM  Borough Council First Meeting of Month

Mayor Kartsonis summarized the proposed agreement with Franklin Township for additional police services related to traffic enforcement. Franklin Township offered the best rate of all the local police departments and has a dedicated traffic enforcement department. Officers will patrol Rocky Hill in four-hour blocks and will not charge for travel time. Although the Borough had looked for police departments that could also provide community policing, Franklin Township cannot provide that at this time.

Mr. Ashbaugh thanked the Mayor, Mr. Sibley and Mr. Dawson for the work they did to improve the Borough's police services. Mr. Uhrik asked what the financial impact will be on the Borough. Mr. Sibley responded the new contract should provide better value than the contract with South Bound Brook because the Borough will keep the revenue from tickets and Franklin will not charge for officer travel time. Mr. Sciaraffo asked if the lack of community policing is something that will be missed by Borough residents. Mr. Sibley responded that it is not something the Borough has ever had, so it will not be missed. Mr. Ashbaugh asked if the officers will have body cameras, but the answer was not known.

Franklin Township Council will be voting on the agreement at its September 12, 2017 meeting.

MOVER:Mark Sibley, Councilman
SECONDER:Robert Ashbaugh, Councilman
AYES:Robert Ashbaugh, John Hagemann, Anthony Sciaraffo, Mark Sibley, Robert Uhrik
ABSENT:Billy Dawson